SLAVA logo

General Club Information

SLAVA, the National High School Slavic Honor Society, was founded in December, 1973, during the annual meeting of Dobro Slovo (The National Slavic Honor Society) with the help and encouragement of the American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages (AATSEEL). This Society is to serve as a means for the recognition of excellence in the study of Slavic languages and literature and to provide incentive for scholarly interest in Slavic life and culture. The Society was patterned after existing honorary organizations in other fields.

SLAVA members must be in at least the third year of Russian language study and carry exception grades in Russian and other content areas. New members will be inducted in the spring of 2017.


SLAVA held elections for the 2016-17 school year.

President- Natalia Kulczycki, 
Vice President- Hannah Folks
Secretary- Catherine Kemp
Treasurer- Jasmine Nixon
Tutoring Coordinator- Emma Ross
Special Projects Coordinator- Jason McEachin